Flemming v. Nestor Case Brief
LSD Deep Dive ∘ Audio Lesson
A two-host discussion of this case - listen on your commute or between classes
Case Brief Summary & Legal Analysis
tl;dr: Nestor challenged the termination of his Social Security benefits after deportation for past Communist Party membership. The Court reversed the judgment invalidating the termination statute, holding that benefits were noncontractual, the classification had rational justification, and the termination had not been shown to impose unconstitutional punishment.
Legal Significance: The decision establishes that Social Security benefits are noncontractual statutory interests subject to congressional modification, while remaining protected against arbitrary governmental action. It also requires clear proof of punitive purpose before treating this benefit disqualification as punishment triggering constitutional prohibitions.
Case Facts & Court Holding
Key Facts & Case Background
Nestor immigrated from Bulgaria in 1913 and became eligible for old-age Social Security benefits in November 1955. In July 1956, he was deported for Communist Party membership from 1933 to 1939. Section 202 (n) of the Social Security Act required termination of benefits following deportation on specified grounds, including his. His benefits were terminated, and his wife, who remained in this country, received notice. She remained eligible for benefits payable to her as an insured individual’s wife.
After unsuccessfully seeking administrative reversal, Nestor sued under § 205 (g) for judicial review. On cross-motions for summary judgment, the District Court held § 202 (n) unconstitutional under the Fifth Amendment’s Due Process Clause because it deprived him of an accrued property right. The Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare appealed directly to the Supreme Court.
Court Holding & Legal Precedent
Issue: Did § 202 (n)’s termination of Nestor’s Social Security benefits following deportation violate due process or the constitutional prohibitions against bills of attainder, ex post facto laws, and punishment without judicial trial?
The Court reversed the District Court and sustained § 202 (n) against the constitutional challenges presented. Social Security participation did not create an accrued contractual property right immune from modification. Terminating benefits for specified deportees had rational justification, and neither the deprivation nor the legislative history established punitive purpose. The single-judge District Court properly exercised jurisdiction because the action sought review of benefit termination rather than an injunction restraining enforcement of the statute.
IRAC Legal Analysis
Legal Issue
Did § 202 (n)’s termination of Nestor’s Social Security benefits following deportation violate due process or the constitutional prohibitions against bills of attainder, ex post facto laws, and punishment without judicial trial?
Conclusion
The case preserves Congress’s flexibility to modify Social Security benefits while recognizing constitutional protection against arbitrary classifications. Its punishment analysis emphasizes statutory context, rational regulatory connections, and the demanding proof required to establish punitive purpose.
Legal Rule
Social Security benefits are noncontractual statutory interests, and Congress expressly reserved authority to alter, amend, or repeal the Act. § 1104, 42 U. S. C. § 1304. Withholding such benefits violates due process only if the classification is patently arbitrary and utterly lacks rational justification. Whether a disqualification constitutes punishment turns on whether it targets persons for past conduct or regulates a present activity or status. Cummings v. Missouri, 4 Wall. 277, 320; De Veau v. Braisted, 363 U. S. 144, 160 (plurality opinion). Only the clearest proof suffices to establish an unconstitutional punitive purpose in legislation of this kind.
Legal Analysis
The majority distinguished Social Security from contractual annuities: eligibility and benefit amounts depended on covered earnings rather than tax contributions. Treating benefits as indefeasible accrued property would undermine the program’s capacity to adjust to changing conditions, reflected in Congress’s express reservation of amendment power.
Nevertheless, beneficiaries retained protection against arbitrary governmental action. The Court identified possible rational grounds for the classification: payments abroad could fail to increase domestic purchasing power, and Congress could decline to support persons deported on the specified grounds. These justifications need not have actually motivated Congress, and incomplete coverage did not invalidate the classification.
The punishment challenges shared a necessary premise: termination had to constitute punishment. Drawing on Cummings and the De Veau plurality, the Court examined whether legislation regulated a present situation or targeted persons for past conduct. It distinguished Cummings, Ex parte Garland, and United States v. Lovett because their particular contexts supplied evidence of punitive intent. Here, denying a noncontractual benefit imposed no affirmative disability or restraint, and the disqualification bore a rational relationship to the statutory program.
The sparse legislative history and selective coverage did not provide the clearest proof of punitive purpose. Deportation itself remained necessary; underlying conduct alone did not terminate benefits. Possible nonpunitive explanations for excluded categories defeated the proposed inference of punishment.
Under Garment Workers v. Donnelly Co., 304 U. S. 243, merely questioning a statute’s constitutionality did not require three judges absent an application to enjoin enforcement. The First Amendment contention was unavailable as a collateral attack on deportation; its merits were not decided.
Separate opinions
Black, dissenting: Black regarded the benefits as earned insurance protected against governmental repudiation. He argued that termination violated property protections and constituted an ex post facto law and bill of attainder, criticized the majority’s arbitrary-and-irrational standard, and would affirm.
Douglas, dissenting: Douglas considered termination of accrued contributory benefits punishment imposed without judicial trial and therefore a bill of attainder. He viewed the statute as confiscating property because of past conduct or ideology and would affirm.
Brennan, dissenting: Joined by The Chief Justice and Douglas, Brennan argued that selective termination based on blameworthy conduct revealed punitive purpose rather than administration of Social Security. He concluded that the statute imposed ex post facto punishment without judicial trial and found it unnecessary to decide whether it also constituted a bill of attainder.
The Opinions
Summary
- Social Security benefits are not an “accrued property right”; they are a noncontractual government benefit that Congress may alter.
- Withholding such benefits is subject to rational basis review and is constitutional if not “patently arbitrary.”
- Terminating benefits for deported aliens is a regulatory act, not “punishment,” and thus does not violate the Bill of Attainder or Ex Post Facto Clauses.
Full text
Complete unedited opinion text as published by the court
delivered the opinion of the Court.
.From a decision of the District Court for the District of Columbia holding § 202 (n) of the Social Security Act (68 Stat. 1083, as amended, 42 U. S. C. § 402 (n)) unconstitutional, the Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare takes this direct appeal pursuant to 28 U. S. C. § 1252. The challenged section, set forth in full in the margin,
Appellee, an alien, immigrated to this country from Bulgaria in 1913, and became eligible for old-age benefits in November 1955. In July 1956 he was deported pursuant to § 241 (a) (6) (C) (i) of the Immigration and Nationality Act for having been a member of the Communist Party from 1933 to 1939. This being one of the benefit-termination deportation grounds specified in § 202 (n), appellee’s benefits were terminated soon thereafter, and notice of the termination was given to his wife,
The preliminary jurisdictional question is whether 28 U. S. C. § 2282 is applicable, and therefore required that the case be heard below before three judges, rather than by a single judge, as it was. Section 2282 forbids the issuance, except by a three-judge District Court, of
Under the decisions of this Court, this § 205 (g) action could, and did, draw in question the constitutionality of § 202 (n). See, e. g., Anniston Mfg. Co. v. Davis, 301 U. S. 337, 345-346. However, the action did no more. It did not seek affirmatively to interdict the operation of a statutory scheme. A judgment for appellee would not put the operation of a federal statute under the restraint of an equity decree; indeed, apart from its effect under the doctrine of stare decisis, it would have ño other result than to require the payment of appellee’s benefits. In these circumstances we think that what was said in Garment Workers v. Donnelly Co., 304 U. S. 243, where this Court dealt with an analogous situation, is controlling here:
“[The predecessor of § 2282] does not provide for a case where the validity of an Act of Congress is merely drawn in question, albeit that question be decided, but only for a case where there is an application for an interlocutory or permanent injunction to restrain the enforcement of an Act of Congress. . . . Had Congress intended the provision ... , for three judges and direct appeal, to apply whenever a question of the validity of an Act of Congress became involved, Congress would naturally have used the familiar phrase 'drawn in question’ . . . .” Id., at 250.
I.
We think that the District Court erred in holding that § 202 (n) deprived appellee of an “accrued property right.” 169 F. Supp., at 934. Appellee’s right to Social Security benefits cannot properly be considered to have been of that order.
The general purposes underlying the Social Security Act were expounded by Mr. Justice Cardozo in Helvering v. Davis, 301 U. S. 619, 640-645. The issue here, however, requires some inquiry into the statutory scheme' by which those purposes are sought to be achieved. Payments under the Act are based upon the wage earner’s record of earnings in employment or self-employment covered by the Act, and take the form of old-age insurance and disability insurance benefits inuring to the wage earner (known as the “primary beneficiary”), and of benefits, including survivor benefits, payable to named dependents (“secondary beneficiaries”) of a wage earner. Broadly speaking, eligibility for benefits depends on satisfying statutory conditions as to (1) employment in covered employment or self-employment (see § 210 (a), 42 U. S. C. § 410 (a)); (2) the requisite number of “quarters of coverage” — i. e., three-month periods during which not less than a stated sum was earned — the number depending generally on age (see §§ 213-215, 42 U. S. C. §§413-415); and (3) attainment of the retirement age (see § 216 (a), 42 U. S. C. §416 (a)). § 202 (a), 42 U. S. C. § 402 (a).
The program is financed through a payroll tax levied on employees in covered employment, and on their employers. The tax rate, which is a fixed percentage of the first $4,800 of employee annual income, is set at a scale which will increase from year to year, presumably to keep pace with rising benefit costs. I. R. C. of 1954, §§ 3101, 3111, 3121 (a). The tax proceeds are paid into the Treasury “as internal-revenue collections/’ I. R. C., § 3501, and each year an amount equal to the proceeds is appropriated to a Trust Fund, from which benefits and the expenses of the program are paid. § 201, 42 U. S. C. § 401. It was evidently contemplated that receipts would greatly exceed disbursements in the early years of operation of the system, and surplus funds are invested in government obligations, and the income returned to the Trust Fund. Thus, provision is made for expected increasing costs of the program.
The Social Security system may be accurately described as a form of social insurance, enacted pursuant to Congress’ power to “spend money in aid of the 'general welfare,’ ” Helvering v. Davis, supra, at 640, whereby persons gainfully employed, and those who employ them, are taxed to permit the payment of benefits to the retired and disabled, and their dependents. Plainly the expectation is that many members of the present productive work force will in turn become beneficiaries rather than supporters of the program. But each worker’s benefits, though flowing from the contributions he made to the
It is hardly profitable to engage in conceptualizations regarding "earned rights” and “gratuities.” Cf. Lynch v. United States, 292 U. S. 571, 576-577. The “right” to Social Security benefits is in one sense “earned,” for the entire scheme rests on the legislative judgment that those •who in their productive years were functioning members of the economy may justly call upon that economy, in their later years, for protection from “the rigors of the poor house as well as from the haunting fear that such a lot awaits them when journey's end is near.” Helvering v. Davis, supra, at 641. But the practical effectuation of that judgment has of necessity called forth a highly complex and interrelated statutory structure. Integrated treatment of the manifold specific problems presented by the Social Security program demands more than a generalization. That program was designed to function into the indefinite future, and its specific provisions rest on predictions as to expected economic conditions which must inevitably prove less than wholly accurate, and on judgments and preferences as to the proper allocation of the Nation's resources which evolving economic and social conditions will of necessity in some degree modify.
To engraft upon the Social Security system a concept of “accrued property rights” would deprive it of the flexibility and boldness- in adjustment to ever-changing conditions which it demands. See Wollenberg, Vested Rights in Social-Security Benefits, 37 Ore. L. Rev. -299, 359. It was doubtless out of an awareness of the need for such flexibility that Congress included in the original Act, and
We must conclude that a person covered by the Act has not such a right in benefit payments as would make every defeasance of “accrued” interests violative of the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment.
II.
This is not to say, however, that Congress may exercise its power to modify the statutory scheme free of all constitutional restraint. The interest of a covered employee under the Act is of sufficient substance to fall within the protection from arbitrary governmental action afforded by the Due Process Clause. In judging the permissibility of the cut-off provisions of § 202 (n) from this standpoint, it is not within our authority to determine whether the Congressional judgment expressed in that section is sound or equitable, or whether it comports well or ill with the purposes of the Act. “Whether wisdom or unwisdom resides in the scheme of benefits set forth in Title II, it is not' for us to say. The answer to such inquiries must come from Congress, not the courts. Our concern here, as often, is with power, not with wisdom.” Helvering v. Davis, supra, at 644. Particularly when we deal with a withholding of a noncontractual benefit under a social welfare program such as this, we must recognize that the Due Process Clause can be thought to interpose a bar only if the statute manifests a patently arbitrary classification, utterly lacking in rational justification.
We need go no further to find support for our conclusion that this provision of the Act cannot be condemned as so lacking in rational justification as to offend due process.
III.
The remaining, and most insistently pressed, constitutional objections rest upon Art. I, § 9, cl. 3, and Art. Ill,
In determining whether legislation which bases a disqualification on the happening of a certain past event imposes a punishment, the Court has sought to discern the objects on which the enactment in question was
“The oath could not . . . have been required as a means of ascertaining whether parties were qualified or not for their respective callings or the trusts with which they were charged. It was required in order to reach the person, not the calling. It was exacted, not from any notion that the several acts designated indicated unfitness for the callings, but because it was thought that the several acts deserved punishment ....’’ Id., at 320. (Emphasis supplied.)
Only the other day the governing inquiry was stated, in an opinion joined by four members of the Court, in these terms:
“The question in each case where unpleasant consequences are brought to bear upon an individual for prior conduct, is whether the legislative aim was to punish that individual' for past activity, or whether the restriction of the individual comes about as a relevant incident to a regulation of a present situation, such as the proper qualifications for a profession.” De Veau v. Braisted, 363 U. S. 144, 160 (plurality opinion).
Turning, then, to the particular statutory provision before us, appellee cannot successfully contend that the language and structure of § 202 (n), or the nature of
We observe initially that only the clearest proof could suffice to establish the unconstitutionality of a statute on such a ground. Judicial inquiries into Congressional motives are at best a hazardous matter, and when that inquiry seeks to go behind objective manifestations it becomes a dubious affair indeed. Moreover, the presumption of constitutionality with which this enactment, like any other, comes to us forbids us lightly to choose that reading of the statute’s setting which will invalidate it over that which will save it. “[I]t is not on slight^ implication and vague conjecture that the legislature is to be pronounced to have transcended its powers, and its acts to be considered as void.” Fletcher v. Peck, 6 Cranch 87, 128.
The Senate Committee rejected the proposal, for the stated reason that it had “not had an opportunity to give sufficient study to all the possible implications of this provision, which involves termination of benefit rights under the contributory program of old-age and survivors insurance . . . S. Rep. No. 1987, 83d Cong., 2d Sess., p. 23; see also id., at 76. However, in Conference, the proposal was restored in modified form,
Appellee argues that this history demonstrates that Congress was not concerned with the fact of a benefi-
Moreover, the grounds for deportation referred to in the Committee Report embrace the great majority of those deported, as is evident from an examination of the four omitted grounds, summarized in the margin.
The same answer must be made to arguments drawn from the failure of Congress to apply § 202 (n) to bene-
„ 7 Reversed.
Section 202 (n) provides as follows:
“(n)(l) If any individual is (after the date of enactment of this subsection) deported under paragraph (1), (2), (4), (5), (6), (7), (10), (11), (12), (14), (15), (16), (17), or (18) of section 241 (a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, then, notwithstanding any other provisions of this title—
“(A) no monthly benefit under this section or section 223 [42 U. S. C. § 423, relating .to “disability insurance benefits”] shall be paid to such individual, on the basis of his wages and self-employment income, for any month occurring (i) after the month in which\*605 the Secretary is notified by the Attorney General that such individual has been so deported, and (ii) before the month in which such individual is thereafter lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence,
“(B) if no benefit could be paid to such individual (or if no benefit could be paid to him if he were alive) for any month by reason of subparagraph (A), no monthly benefit under this section shall be paid, on the basis of his wages and self-employment income, for such month to any other person who is not a citizen of the United States and is outside the United States for any part of such month, and
“(C) no lump-sum death payment shall be made on the basis of such individual's wages and self-employment income if he dies (i) in or after the month in which such notice is received, and (ii) before the month in which he is thereafter lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence.
“Section 203 (b) and (c) of this Act shall not apply with respect to any such individual for any month for which no monthly benefit may be paid to him by reason of this paragraph.
“(2) As soon as practicable after the deportation of any individual under any of the paragraphs of section 241 (a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act enumerated in paragraph (1) in this subsection, the Attorney General shall notify the Secretary of such deportation.”
The provisions of § 241 (a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act are summarized in notes 10, 13, post, pp. 618, 620.
Under paragraph (1) (B) of § 202 (n) (see note-1, ante), appellee’s wife, because of her residence here, has remained eligible for benefits payable to her as the wife of an insured individual. See § 202 (b), 53 Stat. 1364, as amended, 42 U. S. C. § 402 (b).
Section 205 (g) provides as follows:
“(g) Any individual, after any final decision of the Board made after a hearing to which he was a party, irrespective of the amount in controversy, may obtain a review of such decision by a civil action commenced within sixty days after the mailing to him of notice of such decision or within such further time as the Board may allow. . . . As part of its answer the Board shall file a certified copy of the transcript of the record including the evidence upon which the findings and decision complained of are based. The court shall have power to enter, upon the pleadings and transcript of the record, a judgment affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision of the Board, with or without remanding the cause for a rehearing. The findings of the Board as to any fact, if supported by substantial evidence, shall be conclusive .... The judgment of the court shall be final except that it shall be subject to review in the same manner as a judgment in other civil actions.”
In addition, eligibility for disability insurance benefits is of course subject to the further condition of the incurring of a disability as defined in the Act. § 223, 42 U. S. C. § 423. Secondary beneficiaries must meet the tests of family relationship to the wage earner set forth in the Act. § 202 (b)-(h), 42 U. S. C. § 402 (b)-(h).
The Act does not provide for the termination of benefits of nonresident citizens, or of some aliens who leave the country voluntarily— although many nonresident aliens do lose their eligibility by virtue of the provisions of § 202 (t), 70 Stat. 835, as amended, 42 U. S. C. §402 (t) — or of aliens deported pursuant to paragraphs 3, 8, 9, or 13 of the 18 paragraphs of § 241 (a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act. See note 13, post.
Art. I, §9, cl. 3:
“No bill of attainder or ex post facto law shall be passed.”
Art. Ill, § 2, cl. 3:
“The trial of all crimes, except in cases of impeachment, shall be by jury; and such trial shall be held in the State where the said crimes shall have been committed . . . .”
Amend. VI:
“In all criminal prosecutions the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall have been committed, which district shall have been previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favour; and to have the assistance of counsel for his defence.”
Appellee also adds, but hardly argues, the contention that he has been deprived of his rights under the First Amendment, since the adverse consequences stemmed from “mere past membership” in the Communist Party. This contention, which is no more than a collateral attack on appellee’s deportation, is not open to him.
See also Pierce v. Carskadon, 16 Wall. 234. A West Virginia statute providing that a nonresident who had suffered a judgment in an action commenced by attachment, but in which he had not been personally served and did not appear, could within one year petition the court for a reopening of the judgment and a trial on the merits, was amended in 1865 so as to condition that right on the taking of an exculpatory oath that the defendant had never supported the Confederacy. On the authority of Cummings and Garland, the amendment was invalidated.
As prior decisions make clear, compare Ex parte Garland, supra,. with Hawker v. New York, supra, the severity of a sanction is not determinative of its character as “punishment.”
Paragraphs (1), (2), and (10) of §241 (a) relate to unlawful entry, or entry not complying with certain conditions; paragraphs (6) and (7) apply to “subversive” and related activities; the remainder of the included paragraphs are concerned with convictions of designated crimes, or the commission of acts related to them, such as narcotics addiction or prostitution.
For example, under the House version termination of benefits of a deportee would also have terminated benefits paid to secondary beneficiaries based on the earning records of the deportee. The Conference proposal limited this effect to secondary beneficiaries who were nonresident aliens. See note 2, ante.
Appellee also relies on the juxtaposition of the proposed § 108 and certain other provisions, some of which were enacted and some of which were not. This argument is too conjectural to warrant discussion. In addition, reliance is placed on a letter written to the Senate Finance Committee by appellant’s predecessor in office, opposing the enactment of what is now § 202 (u) of the Act, 70 Stat. 838, 42 U. S. C. § 402 (u), on the ground that the section was “in the nature of a penalty and based on considerations foreign to the objectives” of the program. Social Security Amendments of 1955, Hearings before the Senate Committee on Finance, 84th Cong., 2d Sess., p. 1319. The Secretary went on to say that “present law recognizes only three narrowly limited exceptions [of which § 202 (n) is one] to the basic principle that benefits are paid without regard to the attitudes, opinions, behavior, or personal characteristics of the individual . . . .” It should be observed, however, that the Secretary did not speak of § 202 (n) as a penalty, as he did of the proposed § 202 (u). The latter provision is concededly penal, and applies only pursuant to a judgment of a court in a criminal case.
They are: (1) persons institutionalized at public expense within five years after entry because of “mental disease, defect, or deficiency” not shown to have arisen subsequent to admission (§241 (a)(3)); (2) persons becoming a public charge within five years after entry from causes not shown to have arisen subsequent to admission § 241 (a) (8)); (3) persons admitted as nonimmigrants (see § 101 (a) (15), 66 Stat. 167, 8 U. S. C. § 1101 (a) (15)) who fail to maintain, or comply with the conditions of, such status (§241 (a)(9)); (4) persons knowingly and for gain inducing or aiding, prior to or within five years after entry, any other alien to enter or attempt to enter unlawfully (§ 241 (a) (13)).
Were we to engage in speculation, it would not be difficult to conjecture that Congress may have been led to exclude these four grounds of deportation out of compassionate or de minimis considerations.