Case brief · Torts

BOURQUE v. DUPLECHIN Case Brief

Court of Appeal of Louisiana, Third Circuit • 1976
Holding checked against the opinion
331 So.2d 40 Torts Insurance Law
AI-generated from the opinion text. Read the opinion before you rely on it.

LSD Deep Dive ∘ Audio Lesson

A two-host discussion of this case - listen on your commute or between classes

Case Brief Summary & Legal Analysis

4 min read

tl;dr: Bourque sued an opposing softball player and his insurer after a collision caused facial injuries. The court affirmed damages, finding that Duplechin negligently ran into Bourque away from second base, Bourque neither assumed that risk nor acted negligently, and the policy’s exclusion for expected or intended injury did not apply.

Legal Significance: The decision distinguishes foreseeable risks inherent in sports from injuries caused by unexpected, unsportsmanlike conduct. It also distinguishes reckless conduct from expected or intended injury when applying a liability policy exclusion.

Case Facts & Court Holding

Key Facts & Case Background

Jerome Bourque, Jr., sued Adrien Duplechin and Allstate Insurance Company for injuries sustained during a softball game on June 9, 1974. Bourque tagged second base during an attempted double play, stepped away, and threw to first. Duplechin then ran into him at full speed, raising his left arm under Bourque’s chin. The evidence supported the trial court’s finding that the collision occurred four or five feet from second base toward the pitcher’s mound. Duplechin admitted trying to obstruct Bourque’s view and prevent the double play. An expert testified that softball is a noncontact sport and that sliding is the accepted means of breaking up such a play. The umpire ejected Duplechin. Bourque suffered a fractured jaw, chin injuries requiring plastic surgery, seven broken teeth requiring crowns, and another tooth requiring replacement by a bridge. The trial court awarded $12,000 for pain and suffering and $1,496 in special damages against both defendants. Both appealed, asserting assumption of risk and contributory negligence. Duplechin also challenged negligence and the collision’s location; Allstate asserted its exclusion for injury expected or intended by the insured. The amount awarded was undisputed.

Court Holding & Legal Precedent

Issue: Were Duplechin and Allstate liable for Bourque’s softball injuries despite defendants’ challenges concerning negligence, assumption of risk, contributory negligence, and the policy exclusion for expected or intended injury?

The court affirmed the judgment against Duplechin and Allstate. Duplechin negligently breached his duty by running into Bourque at full speed away from second base. Bourque neither assumed the risk of that particular conduct nor was contributorily negligent. Allstate failed to establish its exclusion because the evidence showed that Duplechin did not expect or intend the resulting injury.

IRAC Legal Analysis

Legal Issue

Were Duplechin and Allstate liable for Bourque’s softball injuries despite defendants’ challenges concerning negligence, assumption of risk, contributory negligence, and the policy exclusion for expected or intended injury?

Conclusion

The decision limits assumption of risk in sports to the activity’s obvious and foreseeable risks. Its coverage holding also illustrates that reckless play does not necessarily establish expected or intended injury under a liability policy.

Legal Rule

A softball player must play in the ordinary fashion without unsportsmanlike conduct or wanton injury to others. Participants assume obvious, foreseeable risks incidental to the sport, but not injuries from fellow players acting unexpectedly or unsportsmanlike with reckless disregard for others. Hawayek v. Simmons, 91 So.2d 49 (La.App. Orl.1956); Carroll v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Company, 301 So.2d 406 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1974); Roseberger v. Central La. Dist. Livestock Show, Inc., 312 So.2d 300 (La.1975). Assumption of risk is an affirmative defense requiring proof by a preponderance of the evidence. Under Allstate’s policy, injury expected or intended by the insured is excluded; negligent conduct does not establish that exclusion merely because it recklessly disregards consequences.

Legal Analysis

The court found a reasonable evidentiary basis for the trial court’s findings, including the collision’s location away from second base. Duplechin’s conduct unquestionably caused Bourque’s injuries and breached his duty to play softball in the ordinary fashion. His attempt to prevent a double play did not justify veering toward Bourque and striking him at full speed.

The court distinguished ordinary sporting risks from this collision. Citing Benedetto v. Travelers Insurance Company and Richmond v. Employers’ Fire Insurance Company, it recognized that Bourque assumed risks of being struck by a bat or ball. It stated only that he may also have assumed an injury from being spiked while standing in the base path during a slide. Applying Hawayek, Carroll, and Roseberger, the court concluded that he did not assume the risk of unexpected, unsportsmanlike conduct involving reckless disregard for fellow players. Defendants did not prove that affirmative defense, and the record contained no evidence of Bourque’s contributory negligence.

On coverage, the court distinguished Duplechin’s reckless attempt to break up the play from an intent or expectation to cause injury. Although his conduct was negligent and perhaps wantonly negligent, the evidence showed no desire to injure Bourque. The resulting injury therefore fell outside the policy exclusion. Finding no manifest error, the court affirmed; damages were not contested.

Separate opinions

Cutrer, dissenting: Cutrer disputed the characterization of Duplechin’s conduct as negligent and would apply Allstate’s intentional-tort exclusion. He reasoned that collision and injury were substantially certain because Duplechin, the larger player, ran upright at full speed directly toward Bourque. Even without a purpose to injure, Duplechin intended unpermitted contact, which Cutrer regarded as an intentional tort.

The Opinions

Summary

  • A participant in a sport assumes only the obvious and foreseeable risks incidental to the game.
  • A player does not assume the risk of injury from another player’s unexpected, unsportsmanlike, or reckless conduct.
  • An act of wanton negligence, done with reckless disregard for safety but without a specific intent to harm, may not trigger an insurance policy’s “intentional act” exclusion.

Full text

Complete unedited opinion text as published by the court

WATSON, Judge.

WATSON, Judge.

Plaintiff, Jerome Bourque, Jr., filed this suit to recover damages for personal injuries received in a softball game. Made defendants were Adrien Duplechin, a member of the opposing team who inflicted the injuries, and Duplechin's liability insurer, Allstate Insurance Company. The trial court rendered judgment in favor of plaintiff against both defendants and defendants have appealed. We affirm.

Both Duplechin and Allstate contend that the trial court erred: in not finding that Bourque assumed the risk of injury by participating in the softball game; and in failing to find that Bourque was guilty of contributory negligence. Defendant Duplechin also contends that the trial court erred in finding him negligent and in finding that the injury to plaintiff Bourque occurred four to five feet away from the second base position in the general direction of the pitcher's mound. Allstate further contends that the trial court erred in finding coverage under its policy which excludes injury intended or expected by the insured.

On June 9, 1974, Bourque was playing second base on a softball team fielded by Boo Boo's Lounge. Duplechin, a member of the opposing team sponsored by Murray's Steak House and Lounge, had hit the ball and advanced to first base. A teammate of Duplechin's, Steve Pressler, hit a ground ball and Duplechin started to second. The shortstop caught the ground ball and threw it to Bourque who tagged second base and then stepped away from second base to throw the ball to first and execute a double play. After Bourque had thrown the ball to first base, Duplechin ran at full speed into Bourque. As Duplechin ran into Bourque, he brought his left arm up under Bourque's chin. The evidence supports the trial court's factual conclusion that the collision occurred four or five feet away from the second base position in the direction of the pitcher's mound. Duplechin was thrown out of the game by the umpire because of the incident.

Pertinent to the trial court's decision was the following testimony:

Plaintiff Bourque, age 22 at the time of trial, testified that he is 5'7" tall. He was well out of the way when he was hit, standing four or five feet from second base and outside the base line. He knew there was a possibility of a runner sliding into him but had never imagined what actually happened, which he regarded as unbelievable under the circumstances.

Gregory John Laborde, a student at Tulane Law School, testified that he witnessed the incident from the dugout along the first base line and saw Duplechin turn and run directly toward Bourque who was standing four or five feet from second base toward home plate. Duplechin did not attempt to slide or decrease his speed and his left arm came up under Bourque's chin as they collided. Duplechin had to veer from the base path in order to strike Bourque.

Donald Frank Lockwood, baseball coach at USL, testified as an expert witness that: softball is a noncontact sport; in a forced play to second such as this, the accepted way to break up a double play is by sliding.

Steve Pressler, who hit the ground ball that precipitated the incident, testified that the sides were retired as a result, because the collision was a flagrant violation of the rules of the game.

Duplechin admitted that he ran into Bourque while standing up in an attempt to block Bourque's view of first base and keep him from executing a double play. Duplechin also admitted that he was running at full speed when he collided with Bourque, a much smaller man. Duplechin attributed the accident to Bourque's failure to get out of the way.

Oral surgeon John R. Wallace saw Bourque following the accident and said the nature of the injury and the x-rays indicated that it was caused by a blow from underneath the jaw. Dr. Wallace characterized the injury as one that may have been common in football before the use of mouthpieces and faceguards.

While other testimony was presented, both cumulative and contradictory, the evidence summarized above provides a reasonable evidentiary basis for the trial court's conclusions.

There is no question that defendant Duplechin's conduct was the cause in fact of the harm to plaintiff Bourque. Duplechin was under a duty to play softball in the ordinary fashion without unsportsmanlike conduct or wanton injury to his fellow players. This duty was breached by Duplechin, whose behavior was, according to the evidence, substandard and negligent. Bourque assumed the risk of being hit by a bat or a ball. Benedetto v. Travelers Insurance Company,172 So.2d 354 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1965) writ denied, 247 La. 872, 175 So.2d 108; Richmond v. Employers' Fire Insurance Company,298 So.2d 118 (La.App. 1 Cir. 1974) writ denied, La., 302 So.2d 18. Bourque may also have assumed the risk of an injury resulting from standing in the base path and being spiked by someone sliding into second base, a common incident of softball and baseball. However, Bourque did not assume the risk of Duplechin going out of his way to run into him at full speed when Bourque was five feet away from the base. A participant in a game or sport assumes all of the risks incidental to that particular activity which are obvious and foreseeable. A participant does not assume the risk of injury from fellow players acting in an unexpected or unsportsmanlike way with a reckless lack of concern for others participating. Hawayek v. Simmons,91 So.2d 49 (La.App. Orl.1956); Carroll v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Company,301 So.2d 406 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1974); Roseberger v. Central La. Dist. Livestock Show, Inc.,312 So.2d 300 (La.1975). Assumption of risk is an affirmative defense which must be proven by a preponderance of the evidence, and the record here supports the trial court's conclusion that Bourque did not assume the risk of Duplechin's negligent act.

There is no evidence in the record to indicate contributory negligence on the part of Bourque.

Allstate contends on appeal that there is no coverage under its policy, because its insured, Duplechin, committed an intentional tort and should have expected injury to result.1 However, while Duplechin's action was negligent and perhaps even constitutes wanton negligence, the evidence is that he did not intend the harm that resulted. The distinction between an intentional tort and one resulting from negligence is summarized in Law of Torts, 4th Ed., by William L. Prosser, at pg. 32, as follows:

Duplechin was not motivated by a desire to injure Bourque. Duplechin tried to break up a double play with a reckless disregard of the consequences to Bourque. Duplechin's action was negligent but does not present a situation where the injury was expected or intended. There is coverage under Allstate's policy.

The trial court awarded plaintiff Bourque $12,000 for his pain and suffering and $1,496.00 for his special damages. There is no dispute about the amount awarded. Bourque's jaw was fractured; his chin required plastic surgery; seven teeth were broken and had to be crowned; and one tooth was replaced by a bridge.

There is no manifest error in the trial court's conclusions which we summarize as follows: plaintiff Bourque's injuries resulted from the negligence of defendant Duplechin; Bourque was not guilty of contributory negligence and did not assume the risk of this particular accident; and defendant Allstate did not prove that coverage was excluded under the terms of its policy.

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the trial court is affirmed at the cost of defendants-appellants, Adrien Duplechin and Allstate Insurance Company.

AFFIRMED.